For my brother’s wedding

Time I tried to live
Live without my rib
Sitting at the crib feelin kinda glib
Me without my make up
The time that I could take up
Not to many more days I feel that I could wake up
Bruises on my side
Let go of my pride
Found my one and only
Down for me to ride

Now I’m thanking the provider
Feel like a survivor
Making up the measure
More than my pleasure
I start a new ledger no marks on my etcher
I can do without the lecture just show my appreciation
Before the congregation I take the legislation
And give her my admiration

It could hour it could take a day
I’m waking from a dream
To have my breath taken away
I don’t know how else to say it
Bone of my bone I feel so refreshed
Underneath these insights flesh of my flesh
Born for the day of distress i only wish happiness
And if you never get me at all
You will always get my best

4 Comments

  1. Lee Torrey said,

    June 18, 2014 at 3:36 am

    That was awesome Dave, I love you lil’ bro…

  2. kbi said,

    June 18, 2014 at 1:27 pm

    U always been a poet!

  3. copper30 said,

    June 20, 2014 at 3:21 am

    Thanks that one is for you…my best effort to reach you from long distance you and your wife will always have my love and inspiration.

  4. copper30 said,

    June 20, 2014 at 3:23 am

    Yeah man Torrey is taking that next step I’m in an extended stay here in Texas missing my wife I just got off into my feelings


Leave a Reply

